Mgcamd does not start

There are 10 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 2,577 times. The last Post () by narso.

• Afternoon , as a debutant for the past two days i have been reading most of the post associated to my issues but still no solution..

the box is zgemma H9 Combo on openTV6.3 i received a CWS line that i zilla in usr/keys folder (the folder was empty)

but each softcam, mgcamd, that i have download from the forum does not install in the plugins area so i do not know how to start them ?

(ther is no softcam in the info panel either,) should i reflash the box?

thank you in advance for your assistance:unhappy:

• I'm really not an mgcamd expert and I'm the wrong person to answer your question, but some say that mgcamd works fine on pure2. Perhaps you could copy the bins and settings to atv ?

• narso:

Since 2019, OpenATV has been using the new and only one way to launch Softcams. OpenATV no longer uses "/etc/*.emu" files to run and support Softcams. This means that older IPK packages will not work. Now the start script must be placed in the "/etc/init.d" folder and named as "softcam.<your_softcam_name>", so for your mgcamd this will be named as follows: "/etc/init.d/softcam.mgcamd".

I recommend installing a new Softcam feed with OpenATV installation packages in OpenATV, as the old feed sources already use many unusable OpenATV IPK packages.

This feed extension is very good for OpenATV (it will show up between plugins after installing and restarting):

OpenATV SoftCam Feed

In this forum thread, I recommend using the first procedure, using Shell / command-line (using "wget" command), to install an additional softcam-feed in OpenATV.

Then restart the set-top box and the Softcams item will also appear in the Plugins-MENU. After you have installed a Softcam (mgcamd), the SoftcamPanel is also displayed. So install Mgcamd and then activate it via SoftcamPanel.