Dreambox or smartcard reader? and TNTSAT

There are 8 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 1,179 times. The last Post () by nano.

• Hello, I am new to card sharing and at bit confused.
    Firstly let me present the hardware I have:

Location 1: France
    HTPC running windows 7 media center, a TSB dual DVBs2 PCI-e card (currently used for Freesat).
    sly+ box with monthly paid sports and movies.
    19' dish pointed at Astra 28.2 (quad lnb).

Location 2: UK
    HTPC running windows 7 media center, TSB dual DVBs2 PCI-e card, analog Kworld PCI card connected via s-video to below receiver.
    Thomson hd TNTSAT receiver with valid TNTSAT card.
    minidish pointed at Astra 28.2 for HTPC Freesat (dual lnb).
    19' dish pointed at Astra 19.2 for TNTSAT (single lnb).

My plans:

1. To use the HTPC in France to view sly and distribute feed via home network to a laptop running WMCE using DVB logic software.

2. To share the sly card with the setup in UK. (either with dreambox or HTPC + smartcard reader)

3. Throw away the Kworld card and Thomson receiver and buy another DVB S2 PCI-e card and use a card reader for TNTSAT.

I am pretty sure all of the above is feasible but I would greatly appreciate any ideas and comments.
    Especially any knowledge about entitlements for sly and TNTSAT as I will be putting the HTPCs to sleep while not in use and would rather not have to swap the cards in and out regularly.

Many thanks,

John

• Hello I think my question/statement was a bit vague, let me rephrase:

- Is now a bad time to start card sharing ? (entitlement problems, loss of channels) considering that I do not have the HD channels.

- If I use a card reader on a windows pc that sometimes is put to sleep will the reliability of the system be inferior to a Dreambox ?

- Is 39.99€ a reasonable amount for a Blackbox 500S ?

- Is this box any good for my uses ?