debian smargo help required

There are 27 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 3,422 times. The last Post () by newtolinux.

• Hiya guys. I've set up my debian finally. I've got a smargo reader and a usb powered hub. I don't really know how to install this and use my sly uk card with it as I'm new to debian. I've tried following Ten's handy tutorial for smargos but i'm stuck at the very first bit that says:
    "1: Linux PC setup.
    Make sure that your installed linux distro which has kernel 2.6.12 or newer version!"

If anyone can help me get up and running with my local and help walk me through it I'd be very grateful.

Many Thanks

• Quick how to for you with simple steps . If any need elaborating please post back. Think this is correct way as a friend of mine has done with this card.

1 . Install Debian 6 latest release as it has newest kernel . Determine whether your system is 32bit or 64 bit and follow respective download

http://cdimage.debian.org/debi…-6.0.1a-amd64-netinst.iso 64bit

http://cdimage.debian.org/debi…n-6.0.1a-i386-netinst.iso 32 bit

Once downloaded burn the image file to a cdr.

Install debian 6 onto your pc following the step by step prompts.

Get this bit done first and if your still stuck after this stage post back

regards

t

Dont forget to hit the thanks button!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:41_002:

Some articles may discuss topics that are illegal, so this information is provided for educational purposes only, your use of the content, downloads and files, or any part thereof, is made solely at your own risk and responsibility. Viewing Pay TV without a valid subscription is illegal. !! Linuxsat-Support.com cannot be held responsible for the content of any information stored or posted on this forum.

• hi newtolinux, thanks for your reply. I've already installed debian on my pc, I did this on Monday. Do I need to do this again? Is there a way of checking which debian version I am using?