What twin tuner for total newbie ?

There are 9 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 1,161 times. The last Post () by huester.

• Hi all brand new to this game so please go easy on me.
    i am after a solid reliable/stable twin tuner , i will need pause and rewind facility as well .
    not sure what image to load as well vix/blackhole ??
    looking at the VU+ solo 2. is this a good bit of kit ?

Paul

• Paul
    VU+Solo2 is a great box with lots of support and images to suit anyone. I would say steer away from the Alien 2 although a lot cheaper, is not in the same league regarding performance. From what I have read the Gigablue Quad is a good box and a bit cheaper. Have a good look round the forum before deciding. I am sure you will get lots of advice on here. A word of caution if you are buying a Solo2. Be aware that people are selling clones so best to stick to reputable dealer such as sponsor

regards

• Hi all brand new to this game so please go easy on me.
    i am after a solid reliable/stable twin tuner , i will need pause and rewind facility as well .
    not sure what image to load as well vix/blackhole ??
    looking at the VU+ solo 2. is this a good bit of kit ?

Paul

cant go wrong with solo2 pal, crackin wee box

• someone told me today that Vix is better because of its time-shift capabilities inc rewind and pause and that black hole does not have this function as std .
    is this true or is this person talking nonsense.

• is this person talking nonsense.

Yes !

Blackhole is by far a more superior image to vix and it does all types of recordings just fine including permanent timeshift.

Permanent timeshift plugin is available in the bh addons menu ready for download.

While i am here...regarding your choice of box it would help if we knew what amount of funds are available..if a solo2 is a little out of your reach then have a gander at the vuduo1 from the forum sponsor as there is good deal running on them atm.

MK