Updating an 'old' 102e HD

There are 6 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 921 times. The last Post () by Todd.

• Alright so i've come across an old 102e HD and it's outdated box, and i'm pretty new to this.

Now, i've had a read around and i'm under the impression that you update the firmware of the box, then have to update channel lists. Now this is where i'm a little bit stuck, or should i say i've had trouble finding solid answers.

Am i right in thinking that to update the channel lists i can do that purely by searching in the satellite options on the box? In my case Astra 2A and Nilesat OR do i have to download and update the channel lists like i updated the firmware (using a USB).

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Edited once, last by Todd ().

• Scanning a satellite will give you all the channels on that satellite in no particular order other than frequency/transponder.
    You can then arrange these into your preferred list or lists if you so wish, eg: movies/sport/etc..
    If your receiver hasn't been updated for a long time, your better off starting off from scratch and creating your own list/lists.
    The ariva channel editor can be found on the ferguson website.
    After you scan in your channels, arrange them in alphabetical order before dumping them to a usb stick. It is easier to find and arrange them on your laptop when your creating your own list.
    When your happy with your list, just reload them back to the receiver using a usb.

• Giving it a try now codar, thanks.

Just another quick question if i may. 'Scrambled channels' is this normally fixed by a firmware update? Or is this another area i need to look into?

Again thanks for the quick reply.

• Ah no, scrambled channels are just that.