Absolute beginners guide

There are 19 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 1,256 times. The last Post () by ukdeveloper.

• Is there one? LOL

I specifically would like to set up card sharing from house which has S*y+ and my office which just has a S*y dish on the roof and nothing else (no box etc).

I have a dm600 to start with, but wanted to know, if i wanted to set up card sharing, do i need to change my LNB to a quad one to do it? or lose one of my S*y feeds into the S*y+ box or is it achieved another way?

UKD.

• Official Post

Your main hurdle with a uk card is it`s locked / paired to the official receiver.. The card needs re paired to an old standard definition official sly receiver to be able to use it in any third party receiver.. Once you have done this we can help you configure it in the dm600..

You would require a quad lnb if you wanted to use 2 dual tuner receivers, or 4 single tuner receivers..

Which other receiver were you thinking of buying ? If you give us a budget we could recommend something.

• Old style *** reciever. Strangely I think I might have one knocking about.

Will my current card just work in it or is something else required?

Re budget? As little as poss really. £150???

• Ok i think I'm kind of getting the idea.

Ive found one of these (attached). Are these ok or does it have to be the really old style boxes?

And in regards to the physical sharing, if I wanted to watch channels from overseas (and vice versa) do you physically have to "know" the person or are there kind of card sharing "shout outs". I know you could pay for the facility but I've read the rules and see that this is frowned upon, which i agree with. Just wondering if you shouldn't pay a payserver, how do you "meet" new sharers.

UKD.

• Official Post

I`m not sure what make and model that is, but as long as it`s not a HD model, any standard definition model will do..