New box needed

There are 14 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 1,457 times. The last Post () by doo_dah.

• Hi all,

I'm a novice with this stuff so hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

I'm based in West Ireland and I'd like a sat receiver but have no idea what to get - internet is pretty terrible where I am (3G USB dongle) so I can't stream.

I just want a box that will allow me to record/watch the odd football match.

Any suggestions would be appreciated :)

Edited once, last by doo_dah ().

• You need to give a lot more information, how much do you want to spend, how much do you know about linux boxes? there are so many out there now and with your poor internet it may be a no go. have you read any of the other posts on here?

• Thanks for replying.

- Budget: I was hoping that I wouldn't have to spend more than 250 euros.
    - I'm familiar with Linux.
    - I've read a few posts on here saying 3G dongle's are not good enough - broadband is required.

So it's not looking like a goer. Oh well :(

• ok right 250 euro so about 170 quid in uk cash or real money backinh up yer euro , punt was better i know lol,

well 3G works ok if i was yu i would get a sim that does 3G in yer area who eva it is thats best in get a 3G
    router that takes yer 3g in turns it into wifi whilst giviny u a cat5 to yer stb

and for your moneys i would say buy a VU+ Zero this will get you what you want n also yet 3G modem wifi router
    hope it helps but if you wanna know more if 3G is piss poor like i know it is in sticks south armagh
    thers always a way with dialup anah ;)

PM for support 0nly with a Link to Y0ur
    P05t w1Th Wat5 up 0r 155u3 thaT5
    B33N ....... P05T3D

0D3R PATCH3D 3H ;)
    much <3 th0ugh in d0 a5 Ab0v3
    1n Wh3n 533N r3plY n PM n 58PP0rt G1v3n ;)

"I'm against Piracey so please DONT ATTACK SHIPS"
    :p

• Thanks Honcho, I've had a read about the VU+ Zero and it sounds good. I have Huawei E5220 3G dongle (3 network).