Want to Set up linux pc server need newbie info!

There are 36 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 2,207 times. The last Post () by master G.

• Hi guys i am thinking of setting up a linux based server, can anybody point me in the right direction in terms of what things i would need to do this, i have a spare pc which i can use and a internet connection nearby. Can someone recommend a good basic tutorial, i have read quite a few on hear and a few other places but i think i must be thick or something(lol), i have a basic understanding of the linux file system with setting up my own dreambox, any help would be great guys.

• I am open to suggestions on Debian or Ubuntu just after which is the easiest to set up, as i am a newbie most of the techie terms are a bit double dutch at the moment, which of all the EMUS are the easiest and most secure to set up, by the way this site is the best i have come across by a country mile, just wish the image verification would go away.

• Ubuntu is best for those not too familiar with linux. It is easy to set up, and fast to install. I use Ubuntu 10.10 (Maverick Meerkat), and there is an easy install script to get your server up and running. I have used various flavours of linux over the years, and Ubuntu is definitely the most user friendly, especially if you have had little linux experience. As Glenviewjf said, once you have it set up, it is really easy to maintain, infact I have mine on a Netbook with the lid closed, and access it from a windows PC.

If I take a while to respond, you can see why.....

:red:

• look for ten belows debian cccam auto instal !
    it took me three weeks to set up my server about a year ago ! i knew absolutely nothing about the subject so dont worry just dive in mate !
    most people can have it up and running in a couple of hours though ! i am completely new to computers ! joint10