Overwhelmed new Amiko Alien2 owner

There are 11 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 1,713 times. The last Post () by pauldb.

• First post here so hello all and thanks in advance for any help.

I have a SAB unix triple box which is owned by my internet provider. It comes bundled with the internet and they DON'T like me fiddling with it!!!! I managed to bootloop it in the past and they had to come "fix" it for me. I'm a little wiser now and have a working backup image of the enigma2 OS.

So I just received an additional Amiko Alien 2 box for free which was stuck on bootloop. As this unit looks identical to the SAB, I tried and was able to write my previous enigma2 image onto it and it works the same as the other unit now.

I want to use my own box and get rid of the internet provider OS and use an open source one. The original always does auto updates and changes bouquets and channel order.

I'm still learning but am overwhelmed as to where to start. There is just too much info here for the beginner. Can anyone point me to a decent guide on starting from scratch? I'm in Ireland so setup will be similar to many UK users.

Thanks

Keliuss

• In short (and perhaps of not much good), I'm surprised that a legit IE IP did provide SH4 boxes by default. Nice:) If they do not have special bootloader, you should be fine with reflashing with any image. Try too google 'how to flash sab triple' and amiko alien2. Front panel buttons are not the same but the principle is.

• Thanks tromo

Well I'm learning fast but admittedly still a newbie.

I'm not sure what to call my IP, they are a very obscure/small outfit (conway.tv) that seem to have had a bit of a monopoly in some apartment developments. Being a newbie I don't know if I have a special bootloader, or what an SH4 box is. Anyway, I now have this 2nd box to play with.