Which OSCAM to choose from?

There are 19 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 2,125 times. The last Post () by lme.

• Hi there.

First of all, i should mention that i'm a complete newbie to Linux / E2 / everything else than proprietary STB's.

I will include this...let's say disclaimer in all my posts for a while so that you know what you're gettin' into.

So, i've (still) got a Zero 4K and trying to learn stuff, i've concluded that i want to install OSCAM on it, just don't

know which one too choose from those down below. Any help would be highly appreciated and if you have

any advices for configuring it (if that is necessary), please share that too.

• Hello.

You can connect via Telnet or SSH protocol to the Linux shell (command line) of the set-top box. For this purpose, use the well-known Putty tool for Windows, for example. According to the Enigma2 distribution, if you have not set a password yet, then use a Telnet connection first. Set a password using the passwd command, and then you can use a more secure and enhanced SSH connection.

It depends on the type of your Enigma2 distribution, because some Enigms use a special softcam (Oscam) launcher and then the softcam will not work if you install it via an IPK package designed for a completely different Enigma. However, the manual installation procedure should work almost always and without errors.

Note: The screenshot you mentioned probably only contains binary (boot) files, but not installation packages (ipk). These are intended for the manual procedure of installing or updating Oscam.

You can find out the architecture of your set-top box (mipsel, arm, arm64, aarch64, sh4, ...) via the command in the shell:

uname -m

Or you can find out in the technical specification of your set-top box, in the details about the chipset or the CPU.