OpenVPN in enigma2 box or in VPN router with openwrt

There are 13 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 2,397 times. The last Post () by Compo.

• Hello, i'm new to the world of enigma2 and I have some doubts about what is the best way to use a vpn it my enigma 2 box. I use openpli on my zgemma h9s but I'm getting some problems setting up openvpn, so I want to buy an router to install openwrt and use it as vpn router.

What you advice? What you use in your setup?

Best regards

• If you have your heart set on a router then buy a Asus or Netgear router with at least a dual core 1ghz cpu to obtain a decent VPN speed. Run the router with Merlin firmware as this uses less cpu power because it has the ability certainly with my Asus router to do the VPN encryption on the fly. And you can set policy rules so you can have some kit going through VPN and others going through your ISP.

I run a Asus RT 86U router with Merlin installed and can get 130mb down and 20 mb up on a 200/20 line using the openVPN protocol not tried it yet but with Wineguard and PIA VPN i could on paper max out my line.

• If you have your heart set on a router then buy a Asus or Netgear router with at least a dual core 1ghz cpu to obtain a decent VPN speed. Run the router with Merlin firmware as this uses less cpu power because it has the ability certainly with my Asus router to do the VPN encryption on the fly. And you can set policy rules so you can have some kit going through VPN and others going through your ISP.

I run a Asus RT 86U router with Merlin installed and can get 130mb down and 20 mb up on a 200/20 line using the openVPN protocol not tried it yet but with Wineguard and PIA VPN i could on paper max out my line.

Yesterday I buy an Mi router 4C to install openwrt but the software is a lot instable, I can put vpn working it kill switch but after a minutes the connection drops and I need to reboot the router :S