upgrade iphone from ios 4.3.4. to 5.1.1.

There are 6 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 925 times. The last Post () by kemestri.

• Hi, complete novice here as far as iphone concerned.
    i have been reading the threads but seem to go around in circles.
    i understand how to jailbreak my iphone 4, but i understand i must first upgrade the i.o.s to 5.1.1
    at the moment it is 4.3.4.

can anyone please explain the steps and what files /software i need.

i am sure the answer is already out there but i just seem to be getting more confused so any help would be appreciated.

• if its the iphone 4 (not the 4s) you can jailbreak ios6 (this is a tethered jailbreak however)

you need to download 5.1.1 ipsw (use google to find a download, itunes will only allow ios6 now) and select it when restoring via itunes. (do not download ios6 if you want ios 5.1.1)

you then jailbreak as normal via redsnow or any other jailbreak program

• if its the iphone 4 (not the 4s) you can jailbreak ios6 (this is a tethered jailbreak however)

you need to download 5.1.1 ipsw (use google to find a download, itunes will only allow ios6 now) and select it when restoring via itunes. (do not download ios6 if you want ios 5.1.1)

you then jailbreak as normal via redsnow or any other jailbreak program

This will only work when you had your phone earlier jailbroken on 5.1.1

If not so, and you don't have the BLOB file for 5.1.1 for your phone, this is not possible!

--

This will leave you with 1 option, and that is upgrade to ios6, and jailbreak that tethered.
    (correct me if i'm wrong)

• download ipsw 5.1.1

1 - Launch iTunes (make sure iTunes is up-to-date)
    2 - Connect device to computer
    3 - Select your device in the list (e.g.: Filip’s iPhone)
    4 - click the “summary” tab
    5 - hold the Alt key (on Mac OS X) / the Shift key (on Windows) and hit “restore”
    6 - iTunes will show a dialog allowing you to select the IPSW file you want your device restored to