Please help a newbie

There are 9 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 716 times. The last Post () by Huntsman.

• Hi all

I'm really new to all this. A mate loaned me an eagle box which I have been using with a cline. It sort of works, but the picture continually breaks up. I know it's not the sat feed coz my Panny tv with built in freesat works fine.

I've spent ages reading forum posts but can't make up my mind which receiver to get.

I have a twin feed coming into lounge, currently 1 goes to tv and the other to the eagle. I need the feed to the tv for iplayer.
    I think I would be happy with a single tuner...... Or would I?

I deffo want an Enigma2 box as that's what everyone says to get.

The first problem I've got is the fact that the box will be hidden away in a cupboard, so I need to find a way of using a "Magic Eye". Is there something I can use to extend the IR up to the tv?

The second and biggest problem is that I haven't got any previous experience in setting up one of these boxes.

After several days of reading, I've come to the conclusion that I should get either a Max Digital XP1000 or a Technomate TM-single.

I am of course, open to suggestions from anyone with knowledge of the aforementioned boxes, or any others deemed suitable.

I was hoping to "play" with it over Easter, but that looks a bit bleak now unless I can make a final decision very quickly!

Thanks in anticipation

• Get yourself a VU+ solo £179 -
    Tried and tested hardware with tons of support and thousands of tutorials - Its all been done before you just have to follow whats already out there !

The hardest bit was finding Linuxsat-support BUT your here now . . . . Order today and you'll have a happy easter for sure.

Rik

78cm dish on tm2300 metal gear motor + 1m Orb with tm2300 + 1.8m Channel Master on H-H floor mount + 80cm ISS with TM2300 AND Inverto Black LNB,inverto Unicable QUDL 42 LNB,- Global invacom Dscc LNB,- Triax KA LNB, - Yuri LNBF C Band YLF-CDP16C