tell me what picons are and what they are used for

There are 16 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 2,063 times. The last Post () by sparkysden.

• Hi there mckee25.
    Please can you tell me what picons are and what they are used for. And if I need to download any. Also where I put them.
    I have a VU+DUO with the latest VTI image. I am new to satellite receivers; But I have managed to do most things to get my new set working.
    Thanks to a bit of help from people on this forum; And trawling the internet for answers. I have still a lot to learn.
    Many thanks for your time.
    sparkysden.

• Picons are static images for the channels on you Reciever buddy! Various styles and formats around!
    they are shown in the info panel to the left of the now and next channel listings! Infobar can be accessed by pressing ok on remote whilst watching channel!

best stored on USB for speed and ease of access but on HDD if you don't want a USB plugged in!

some details in theead below regarding how to access and get on to your box!

http://linuxsat-support.com/pi…h-picons-help-please.html

lssdalogo.png

"Don't Gain The World & Lose Your Soul, Wisdom Is Better Than Silver Or Gold"
    “Herb is the healing of a nation, alcohol is the destruction”

• Hi there everybody.
    I have the latest VTi-Team Image Release. v6.0.0 (Version : 2013-07-03- vti-master).
    I have been trying all week to download and install picons for this version onto my VU+duo.
    Can anyone tell me why the picons will not show when I download them from the VTI setup. In the settings it states that they are downloaded
    to /user/share/enigma2/picon. On this site many say that they should be installed on the root of a pendrive in a folder called "picon".
    I have tried this and also installed into the "user/share/enigma2/picon". With no luck at all.