Old satellite dish and a new DM800

There are 8 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 1,440 times. The last Post () by cazuela.

• Hey guys!

First of all, i'm new to everything that has to do with satellite tv. I have an old sat. dish on the roof of my apartment, and i recently got myself a new dm800 with DVBS/2-tuner. I have also changed all the wires to the lnb's and bought a new DiSEqC 2.0 2/1 switch. I seem to get a good signal (with a sat finder) by the dish, but i don't get much more than 20% AGC and 0% SNR. Sometimes though, the SNR peeks at 100%. Could it be that I have analog LNB's connected to the dish and that i need to change them to digital LNB's? Is there such a thing as analog and digital LNB's?

• most old lnb's in fact 99.9% of them will be fine for digital transmissions first of all i would check the disceq switch and then make sure there is no water in your cable or lnb and make sure there are no copper wires touching the main cable to both the lnb and reciever connection if all fails i would try to realign your dish good luck buddy but if shit hits the fan you could get a disd of fleabay for about a tenner but check all connections first my friend

• It sounds like the dish is looking at another satellite. Try going through your satellite list on your box and look at 13 east and 19 east as it may be pointing at them.

• most old lnb's in fact 99.9% of them will be fine for digital transmissions first of all i would check the disceq switch and then make sure there is no water in your cable or lnb and make sure there are no copper wires touching the main cable to both the lnb and reciever connection if all fails i would try to realign your dish good luck buddy but if shit hits the fan you could get a disd of fleabay for about a tenner but check all connections first my friend

Thanks for your fast reply! I will try your suggestions. But if it still doesn't work, could it be that the lnb's gone bad? Can LNB's go bad? :S