Alternative method to backup Linux Ubuntu / Debian Server in 5 Easy Steps.

There are 7 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 2,405 times. The last Post () by leroy123.

• From time to time you might want to make big changes to your server, changes that might involve risking server stability. You might also want try another Operating System (Switch from Debian to Ubuntu or vice versa) or upgrade from 32Bit OS to 64 Bit OS. Most of these tasks involve the risk of big downtime. I am going to outline a few simple steps to keep downtime to an absolute minimum no matter how big the Upgrade or problem. This Tutorial might seem a bit long winded but it is aimed at the complete novice.

Tools you will Need:

a)… hbcd-15.1-Restored-V1.0-dvd-proteus
    Make sure it is the restored edition, this edition includes all the commercial software that you don’t get with the official Hiren’s Boot DVD.

b)… Blank DVD

c)… USB Key or portable Hard Drive to store the Backup’s on. (I use 8GB USB Key)

Step 1 (Burning the DVD)

Within the folder you will find the “hbcd-15.1-Restored-V1.0-dvd-proteus.iso”. Insert your Blank DVD & burn this iso to a blank DVD with your favourite DVD burning software. (I use windows Disk burner included in Win7, Just right click on the file & click burn disk image) You now have your Hirens Boot DVD.

Step 2 (Creating the backup)

For this step you will need a keyboard, mouse & monitor connected to your Server.

a)… Put the DVD into your server & click CTR+ALT+DEL to restart Server

b)… Press F12 at boot logo Screen to select Boot Device (Might be different on different Systems)

c)… From Boot Device Menu Select CD\DVD Drive & hit enter (This will boot your server from the DVD)

d)… From the first screen, select Windows (Mini-XP, Mini7, MRI)

e).. From the next screen select Windows XP

f)… When the Mini XP OS loads, click on the Start button and HBCD

g)… From the HBCD select programs / Backup / Acronis / True image Home