Alien2 + Enigma2 = Unresponsive remote??

There are 16 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 5,645 times. The last Post () by bjornc.

• Hello Folks,

I'm kinda new at the whole Linux box stuff and so on.
    But i've managed to put a Enigma2 image on my Alien2.

However, i noticed that the remote is very unresponsive with the image.
    So, i tried a different image. Same story. (Tried OR, HDMU, Satbox4all, PKTeam)
    I almost have to push the remote through the box to get a response.
    I'm running a HDMU image right now.

Under Spark, no problems at all.

Am i missing an option/setting?

Thanks in advance!

EDIT:

Just to be clear; I have the same problem with both the original remote, and my Logitech Harmony.

• This is just comical that you have to do a modification like this to what is apparently supposed to be an Enigma 2 box. This box gets more comical every day :10lol:

• Well i also have the same problem with my Logitech Harmony.
    And that remote has some quite powerfull infrared emitters.

nano; really helpfull....

• I've had an Alien 2 and i can categorically state it was the worst box i've ever had the misfortune to own. I'm sorry i have a hatred for this box and its flaky firmware I don't think the issue is with the remote, its with the box. The tin foil trick is just covering over the cracks, its not fixing the problem.

I've had an Alien SHD-8900 and an Alien 2. Both had the same remote. No issues on the SHD-8900 with either remote, I had the same problem with the Alien 2 as what you are having, so i am speaking from experience. I'm just glad i managed to send the pile of crap back to the seller and get my money back.

Just goes to show how bad the Alien 2 box is, Its a train wreck waiting to happen. Sorry to be brutal with the truth, but thats just the way it is. If you want a proper Enigma Linux based box that doesn't have the issues the Alien 2 has it has to have a MIPS CPU, not an SH4 one.