Understanding Amiko

There are 7 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 951 times. The last Post () by oasis.

• Hi all,

I introduced myself elsewhere. First thanks to all for this info. It's terrific. But when you are at my level (way down here) simple questions emerge which are way below the radar of most of this. I am a total newbie with these STBs although definitely not a newbie with computers and networks (in fact a real oldtimer there-;).

So I am looking at an installation package with a great dish and an amiko alien 2. The stb is 'locked' to the installers service. That's OK given the price, but I wonder about modifying this stb down the road. I assume by 'locked' they mean that I don't get the admin login etc to modify. I am assuming that there is no hardware lock of any kind (jumper settings or something). So down the road, if I want, I can always just flash a whole new OS on the stb and wipe existing content clean, get my own new logins etc., and load up whatever platform I want.

Am I correct in this thinking? or is there something else here I've overlooked.

Thanks.

The stb is 'locked' to the installers service. That's OK given the price, but I wonder about modifying this stb down the road. I assume by 'locked' they mean that I don't get the admin login etc to modify.

Can you elaborate on the above to clarify what you mean about being locked to the installer's service?

If I take a while to respond, you can see why.....

:red:

• Can you elaborate on the above to clarify what you mean about being locked to the installer's service?

Not really. I sent them an email with a bunch of questions. One of those questions was:

"Do I get full control of the Amiko box (admin login/password etc) to allow me to upgrade or modify the system at some point down the road if I choose to, or is their any kind of lock on it that prevents this?"

Answer = the pvr box is locked by us