VU + Duo red light stuck on "starting....."

There are 12 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 2,408 times. The last Post () by mckee25.

• Hi Guys, and girls..
    I am a newbie and am glad to be part of your site, it is very informative.

I have the same problem I see a lot of guys posting and it is driving the wife nuts. I only bought my Duo 1 yr ago. But now when I switch on the rocker switch at the back of the box, the red light in the top left of the LCD is constantly on, and the words "starting...." stuck on display. It was working fine until I decided look up TSpanel and update the epg. But somewhere along the line I pressed "update all" and it started to download everything (all the updates, lots of Mb's). So I aborted this, I think by switching it off at the back and when I restarted it, it locked on me. I then shut down and tried to reboot with the usb in the front, and nothing, still displaying starting on the front panel. After several attempts at rebooting to no avail, I searched the forum and seen people with a similar problem, talking about replacing C807 capacitor. I took it to a company in the local Ind Est and asked them if they could replace this, and they replaced all three capacitors (C807, C814 & C850). I got the box home and still the same, red light and "starting..." on the front display. Can anybody help me... I am lost on what to try next? Or where to send for a repair. Any information on what to do next would be grateful.

A little info on the box, It is the model with the SMD (Surface Mount Device). These were replaced with a 220 35v capacitor on C807 and 220 16v capacitors on the other two as in the pic.
    dd32c91e2120b425fe.jpg3fd50d37e24509.jpg9991a2de4db5aafcda72cb.jpg

• I take it that the usb stick in front has the image to reflash on it??
    have you got any others or a HDD connected ?? disconnect everything .
    unplug and restart without any sticks or HDD connected..