Vu+ Duo - works for one day, then just red light on front.

There are 20 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 4,057 times. The last Post () by frankiecam4.

• Lo there.
    Relative newbie here. Vu+ Duo clone arrived Monday and worked fine.
    Configured it all for USALS motor and locked onto satellite.
    All seemed to be going well. Left it overnight to pull 7 day ePG. Next day time was displayed on unit, but locked.
    Power-cycled and all I get is red light on top left of display. No power to anything else including case fan and front and back USB sockets (so can't flash)
    Checking on PC, the FAT32 USB pendrive in back had the EPG files on it from 2am. So this issue happened after then I assume
    Checked and re-seated all power connections inside box.
    No obvious bulging to any capacitor on PSU or motherboard, but as this is new box, would not expect that.

Power is coming into box as case is warm to touch and has red light on front., but as I say fan is not running - nor anything else much.

Someone on other forum mentioned there might be a way of getting a feed via the included RS232 lead/adapter to pull log files? If so, how?
    Also any other advice (that isn't "shouldn't have bought a clone" or similar ;) ) would be appreciated.

Cheers

• would returning back to seller under warranty be an option?

• Sorry, didn't mention, No, not really an option.

Unit came from Hong Kong distributors. It was obviously cheaper, but the risk is there that its bust, which it now is.
    Return shipping costs to HK are prohibitive.

I have asked for a new PSU and Fan to be shipped (in case they are the issue) but distributor is not currently replying.

• Connection via the serial port did not work. Will not update anything.

Well it wasn't via Ali****, but it was probably via the same source i.e Mix**shop in Hong Kong, and paid for via Paypal.