WeTek Play as IPTV encoder/streamer

There are 16 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 5,943 times. The last Post () by cazuela.

• Recently I discovered that in OpenELEC for WeTek Play in Un-official add-ons there are apps such as MuMuDVB and UDPXY, which are widely used for streaming.

Last few days I started playing with this two apps, and results are amazing. I was able to make unicast and multicast streams from WeTek Play, where I streamed some FTA and encr*pted channels, as MuMuDVB also work in combination with OSCam.

About MuMuDVB:

MuMuDVB can redistribute a stream from a DVB source (digital satellite television, digital terrestrial television, or digital cable television) on a network, in multicast or in HTTP unicast. Its main feature is to take a whole transponder and put each channel on a different multicast group with a simple configuration and improved compatibility with set top boxes. MuMuDVB have a low memory and CPU footprint and is able to run on embedded platforms. Servers with 20+ DVB cards are used sucessfully with MuMuDVB.

About UDPXY:

udpxy is a UDP-to-HTTP multicast traffic relay daemon: it forwards UDP traffic from a given multicast subscription to the requesting HTTP client.

udpxy is free and open source: it is licensed under GNU GPLv3. This quick guide explains the license in easily understandable terms.

So what you will need:

1. WeTek Play with DVB Tuner (DVB-S2 or DVB-C/T/T2 tuner)

2. OpenELEC 5.0.X (latest version is 5.0.6) installed on NAND Flash or microSD card

3. PC/Mac (of course :D)

After you install OpenELEC, and you boot in to it, enable Un-official OpenELEC repo for WeTek Play, to do it go to:

System -> Add-ons -> Get Add-ons -> OpenELEC MediaCenter OS Add-ons -> Addons Repository -> Unofficial OpenELEC (WeTek_Play/arm) Add-ons , open it, and press OK/Enter on Install.