4TB external usb drive not recognised in my Amiko Alien2 enigma2 box

There are 9 replies in this Thread which was already clicked 892 times. The last Post () by gorski.

• Hello,

I have an Amiko Alien2 and still after so many years I am running a PKT Hyperion image on it from around 2015!

For years I was using an external 1TB usb drive to record movies from the box which worked great. Now I have a 4TB drive I want to use. The Alien2 doesn't recognise it. I do #blkid -o list and #df -h but the Alien2 does not see the drive.

I think the problem is something to do with fdisk cannot work with partitions being bigger than 2TB? But I have already partitioned the drive with Parted in a different linux OS so shouldn't Alien2 just recognise it?

Hope you can hep me!

Flex

• My friend / FlexMcMurphy

I've never used external 1TB usb drive before

But according to my humble opinion, without previous experience, I don't think the device will recognize the drive above 1TB

It should be borne in mind that the Spark devices are very old devices now and their hardwareware Very weak for new hardwareware has become of the past time. Also, the version PKT used in the device is old, so try it with a modern version special. Open atv 6.3 probability succeed

• You could even try with NTFS but you must install the kernel patch for it... PurE2 should be able to accommodate that, at least...

Also, I would recommend using Image Manager. Using that, you can install more images on a USB stick... Much more fun, no more "limited flash is an issue"...

Good luck!

"Enlightenment is man's emergence from his self-incurred immaturity. Immaturity is the inability to use one's own understanding without the guidance of another. This immaturity is self-incurred if its cause is not lack of understanding, but lack of resolution and courage to use it without the guidance of another. The motto of enlightenment is therefore: Sapere aude! Have courage to use your own understanding!"